After the two and a half-day CM Devendra Fadnavis and Deputy CM Ajit Pawar resigned from their posts, the 285 newly elected members took their oaths for the post of MLAs on 27th November in a special session of the 14th Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

The Supreme Court, on Tuesday, had ordered a floor test to be conducted on Wednesday, after which Devendra Fadnavis and Ajit Pawar resigned from their posts as CM & Deputy CM. As a result, the need for a floor test, to prove the majority support for Devendra Fadnavis, ceased.

Kalidas Kolambkar, who has been appointed as the Pro tem Speaker by Maharashtra State Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari, took oath on November 26th. The oath ceremony on 27th November began with presiding officers Babanrao Pachpute and Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil taking the oath followed by caretaker Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis swearing-in.

Mahesh Baldi (Independent) and Mohammed Ismail (AIMIM) arrived late after the house was adjourned. Hence, they took their oaths in Speaker’s chamber.

Similarly, Mr Ismail arrived late because as he was stuck in traffic, and Mr Baldi, (MLA from Uran, Raigad District) was held up because of the ferry boat that he boarded to arrive in Mumbai, broke down mid-way.

As per the reports, out of the 288 members house, two members — Sudhir Mungantiwar (BJP) and Devendra Bhuyar (Swabhimani Paksha) did not take the oath on 27th November.

As per the congress sources, Speaker’s election will be conducted on 30th November. However, as told by Mr Bhagwat, the election for the appointment of the speaker for the term will be conducted after the cabinet meeting. The meeting is supposed to be held on 28th November after Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray as Chief Minister takes the oath as Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

During the oath-taking session, Senior Leaders Babanrao Pachpute, Vijaykumar Gavit and Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil were appointed as the presiding officers for the administering oath of the members, after an announcement in this regard was made by Mr Kolambar.

NCP’s Ajit Pawar and Chhagan Bhujbal, Congress leaders and former Chief Ministers Ashok Chavan, Prithviraj Chavan, and former speakers Dilip Walse Patil (NCP) and Haribhau Bagade (BJP) were among the members who took oath early.

Mr Ajit Pawar was greeted with thumping of desks from NCP members when he went to the podium to take the oath.

The newly-elected, 29-year-old son of Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, Aaditya Thackeray, who made his electoral debut by winning from Worli seat in Mumbai, was congratulated by members cutting across party lines while he greeted all the senior members.

Dhiraj Deshmukh from Congress and Rohit Pawar from NCP were also among the newcomers who took the oath.

The oath ceremony was conducted after over 1 month of the announcement of election results. The oaths could not be completed because of the chaotic political gaga which went for over a month. The parties were unable to conclude forming a government. As a result, the governor had to request implementation of ‘President’s Rule’ in the state which lasted for 13 days from 12th to 23rd November.

The President’s rules ceased on 23rd November early morning, at 5.47 am after 105 BJP MLAs represented by Devendra Fadnavis and 54 NCP MLAs represented by Ajit Pawar came forward to form a government in the state.

After the two leaders sworn in as CM & Deputy Cm respectively, NCP-Congress-ShivSena trio filed a plea in the court, requesting a floor test of Devendra Fadnavis to prove his majority to continue to hold the position as a CM. The coalition government collapsed on 26th November after Ajit Pawar & Devendra Fadnavis resigned from their posts.

After the hearing, the Supreme Court asked Governor Koshyari on November 26th to appoint a Pro Tem Speaker and ensure all elected members of the House are sworn in on November 27 itself by 5 p.m.

Further, on 25th November evening, Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress trio called the ‘Maha Vikas Aghadi’ submitted a letter claiming support of 162 MLAs to the Governor announcing Shiv Sena Chief Mr Uddhav Thackeray to be appointed as the Chief Minister of alliance government to be formed in Maharashtra.

He will be sworn-in as CM on November 28th evening at Shivaji Park in Dadar, the place where his party holds the traditional Dussehra rally each year.