After a one-year delay due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 67th National Film Awards were announced today. The award ceremony had Kangana Ranaut, Manoj Bajpayee and Dhanush winning best acting award in their respective categories. Kangana Ranaut won the award for Best Actress, Manoj Bajpayee and Dhanush shared award for Best Actor. Meanwhile, Late actor Sushant Singh Rajput starring Chhichhore also made it big and won the award for Best Hindi Feature Film. Vijay Sethupathi (Super Deluxe) and Pallavi Joshi (The Tashkent Files) were awarded the supporting actor/actress awards.

Also read: Bollywood actor Kay Kay Menon awarded ‘Most Versatile’ award at Dadasaheb Phalke International Film Festival

Each year the Indian government announces the National Film Awards categorized in 3 sections: Feature Films, Non-Feature Films and Best Writing. Both the feature films and non-feature films category sees nominations of films that are of aesthetic and technical excellence while being socially relevant. The Best Writing category sees nominations of films that are informative and critically acclaimed while portraying subject matter that comes from books, articles, etc.

Although each year the awards are presented by the Indian President, this year Indian Vice President Mr. Venkaiah Naidu presented the awards while the Indian President Mr. Ram Nath Kovind met the winners and hosted them at a high tea.

Taking our eyes once again over to the winners, Nitesh Tiwari directed Chhichhore won the award for the Best Hindi Feature film. Tiwari is known for directing movies that cater to the masses whilst having a social message incorporated in them. Prior to Chhichhore, he also directed Aamir Khan starring Dangal, which is of the highest grossing movies of all time in Bollywood. Bollywood actor Manoj Bajpayee won the award for Best Actor for his role in Bhosle. The versatile actor shared the award with South Indian megastar Dhanush for the latter’s performance for Asuran.

Priyadarshan, who is known for his rib-tickling comedies like Hera Pheri, Hugama and Hulchul won the award for Best Feature Film for his action epic Marakkar: Arabikadalinte Simham.

Also read: First Ever Filmfare OTT Awards 2020: Here is the Winner’s List

This is the what the award winners had to say after they were felicitated with the most prestigious film award in the nation.

Here is the full list of the winners of 2021 National Film Awards:

Feature Film Category

  • Best Feature Film: Marakkar: Arabikadalinte Simham
  • Best Hindi Film: Chhichhore (Nitesh Tiwari)
  • Best Actor: Shared between Manoj Bajpayee (Bhosle) and Dhanush (Asuran)
  • Best Actress: Kangana Ranaut (Manikarnika and Panga)
  • Best Supporting Actor: Vijay Sethupathi (Super Deluxe)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Pallavi Joshi (The Tashkent Files)
  • Best Editing film: Jersey (Telugu)
  • Best Audiography: Resul Pookutty
  • Best Screenplay Adapted: Gumnami (Srijit Mukherji)
  • Best Female Playback singer: Savani Ravindra for Bardo (Marathi)
  • Best Male Playback Singer: B Praak
  • Best Action Direction: Avane Srimannarayana (Kannada)
  • Best Choreography: Maharishi (Telugu)
  • Best Special Effects: Marakkar: Lion of the Arabian Sea (Malayalam)
  • Special Jury Award: Oththa Seruppu Size 7 (Tamil)
  • Best Lyrics: Prabha Varma for Kolaambi (Malayalam)
  • Best Music Direction: D. Imman for Viswasam (Tamil)
  • Best Background Music: Prabuddha Banerjee for Jyeshthoputro (Bengali)
  • Best Make-up Artist: Ranjith for Helen (Malayalam)
  • Best Costumes: Sujith and Sai for Marakkar: Lion of the Arabian Sea (Malayalam)
  • Best Production Design: Anandi Gopal (Marathi)
  • Best Audiography (Re-recordist of final mixed track): Oththa Seruppu Size 7 (Tamil)
  • Best Screenplay (Original): Jyeshthoputro (Bengali)
  • Best Screenplay (Adapted): Gumnaami (Bengali)
  • Best Screenplay (Dialogues): The Tashkent Files (Hindi)
  • Best Cinematography: Jallikattu (Malayalam)
  • Best Child Artist: Naga Vishal for KD (Tamil)
  • Best Direction: Sanjay Puran Singh Chauhan for Bahattar Hoorain (Hindi)
  • Best Children’s Film: Kastoori (Hindi)
  • Best Film on Environment: Water Burial (Monpa)
  • Best Film on Social Issues: Anandi Gopal (Marathi)
  • Best Film on National Integration: Tajmahal (Marathi)
  • Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment: Maharishi (Telugu)
  • Best Debut Film of a Director: Mathukutty Xavier for Helen (Malayalam)

Non-feature films category

  • Best Film Critic: Sohini Chattopadhyaya
  • Best Book on Cinema: A Gandhian Affair: India’s Curious Portrayal of Love in Cinema.
  • Best Non-Feature Editing: Arjun Saraya
  • Audiography (musical): Radha
  • On Location Sound Recordist: Rahas
  • Best Cinematography: Savita Singh for Sonsi
  • Best Direction: Knock Knock Knock
  • Best Film on Family Values: Oruu Pathira
  • Best Short Fiction: Custody
  • Special Jury Award: Small Scale Values
  • Best Animation: Radha
  • Best Investigative: Jakkal
  • Best Exploration film: Wild Karnataka
  • Best Education film: Apples and Oranges
  • Best Film on Social Issues: Holy Rites (Hindi) and Ladli (Hindi)
  • Best Environment Film: The Stork Saviours
  • Best Promotional film: The Shower
  • Best Biographical Film: Elephants do Remember
  • Best Ethnographic Film: Charan-Atva
  • Best Debut Non-Feature film Director: Khisa
  • Best Non-Feature Film: An Engineered Dream