After the cabinet expansion, PM Modi has now rejigged his cabinet panels. While NDA allies have been reported to have been ignored, fresh names like Smriti Irani, Mansukh Mandaviya have been added. The new update comes days after PM Modi rejigged his cabinet – the first time he did so after winning the PM seat for the second tenure in India.


Just days after expanding his Union Cabinet, PM Modi on July 13 rejigged his cabinet committees. The Prime Minister also sharpened up the CCEA (Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs) by trimming it and further reconstituted the CCPA (Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs) by bringing fresh faces.

For the politically unversed, cabinet committees in a nutshell are sub-committees within the Union Cabinet umbrella. The committees focus on various national and international issues such as security, economy, growth, and even deliberate on Parliamentary affairs by deciding its dates and sessions.

Also Read: PM Modi Cabinet 2.0: A Look at Full List of Ministers After the Cabinet Rejig

New Additions in CCPA – Smriti Irani, Mansukh Mandaviya, Sarbananda Sonowal

CCPA (Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs) have new faces in the form of Smriti Irani, Minister of Woman and Child Development, Mansukh Mandaviya, Union Health Minister, Bhupendra Yadav, Union Minister of Labour and Employment and Sarbananda Sonowal, Minister of AYUSH.

In the esteemed committee which takes decisions on political issues, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sitharaman, Prahalad Joshi, Narendra Singh Tomar and and Piyush Goyal, are included.

While the number of members in the CCPA remains the same as earlier, no representatives of alliance partners have been included. The previous CCPA included Sukhbir Singh Badal, Arvind Sawant and Ram Vilas Paswan.

CCEA Trimmed Down from 11 members to 8

CCEA (Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs) have been trimmed down from 11 members to 8. Now the new panel includes Amit Shah (Home Minister), Rajnath Singh (Defence Minister), Nitin Gadkari (Road, Transport and Highways Minister), Nirmala Sitharaman (Finance and Corporate Affairs Minister), Narendra Singh Tomar (Agriculture and Farmers Welfare), S. Jaishankar (External Affairs), Piyush Goyal (Commerce and Industry and Consumer Affairs, Textiles Minister), Dharmendra Pradhan (Education and Skill development and Entrepreneurship).

It should be noted that at a time when government has claimed to be focusing on improving rural economy and help the country on the grassroot level, the Ministry of Rural Development is not part of the cabinet. Further, Ministry of Railways, Ministry of Enviornment are also not part of the CCEA.

Also Read: Indigenous Light Combat Helicopters: IAF and Indian Army set to get the Helicopter from HAL

Rijiju, Anurag Thakur in Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs

Union Minister Kiren Rijiju, Minister of Sports, Youth Affairs Anurag Thakur have been included in the Cabinet Committee on Parliamentary Affairs which is headed by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh.

Scindia and Vaishnaw included in CCIG

For the Cabinet Committee on Investments and Growth, Prime Minister Modi welcomed new members in Mirco, Small and Medium Enterprises Minister Naryan Rane, new Civil Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia and MeitY and Railways Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw.

Also Read: IT & Railways Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw – The IITian IAS with an MBA from Wharton

FM Sitharaman, Home Minister Amit Shah in CCA

Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Home Minister Amit Shah along with Harshdeep Singh Puri and Piyush Goyal have been tasked with being the members of Cabinet Committee on Accommodation. The committee takes call on the rules regarding allotment of government accommodation. Harshdeep Singh Puri, who’s the Housing and Urban Affairs minister was a special invitee in the previous panel as a Minister of State. Further, Jitendra Singh, is also a special invitee.

MeitY Minister Ashwini & Labour Minister Bhupender Yadav in CCESD

In Cabinet Committee on Employment and Skill Development, MeitY Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw and Bhupendra Yadav are newly inducted. Further, Nitin Gadkari, Ramchandra Prasad Singh, G. Kishan Reddy are also special invitees.