A few days after ICC announced the second season of the WTC 2021-23, the ICC released key details on the T20 World Cup 2021. In the 2021 edition of the ICC T20 World Cup, India will be locking horns with its arch rival Pakistan in the group stage itself. The international tournament which tests the mettle of each team in the shorter format will be played from October 17 to November 17 at Oman and UEA.


The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the final groupings for the T20 World Cup 2021 which will be hosted by the BCCI. While the 2020 edition of the World Cup was slated to be hosted by Australia, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the edition was postponed and now the international tournament has new hosts.

The tournament will now be played in Oman and UAE. As mentioned above, barring no further postponements due to pandemic, the T20 World Cup will be played from October 17 to November 17.

Also Read: WTC 2021-23: ICC Announces India’s Full Fixtures, New Point System Introduced

How are the groups selected?

The ICC selected the groups based on the team’s individual ICC T20 rankings as of March 20. The defending champions are now added in the group of other former champions – England, Australia and South Africa. Their group will be called the Group A.

Meanwhile, the second group comprises of the two former ICC T20 World Cup champions India and Pakistan. While India won the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007, Pakistan won the trophy in 2009. The other two teams in the group are New Zealand and Afghanistan.

While New Zealand has never won the trophy, it reached till Semi Final in 2007 and 2016. Afghanistan on the other hand, will also look to shock and awe.

Also Read: With 17 fours and 17 sixes, Subodh Bhati Becomes 1st Indian to hit Double Century in T20

What’s the format of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021?

The tournament will be split into 2 phases – The group stage and the Super 12s. A total of 16 teams will be taking part in the tournament. Papua New Guinea, Ireland, Oman, Netherlands, Namibia, Scotland will be taking part in the tournament. Other usual suspects such as Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Ireland too will be eager to play.

Papua New Guinea, Oman to Play International Cricket

The top two sides, from each group will qualify for the Super 12 Stage. These teams will then battle it out with the teams that have already made their way to the Super 12 stage (top 8-ranked team). The Super 12 stage will see a total of 12 teams that will be divided in 2 groups of 6. The top two teams from these two groups will make their way through to the semi-finals.

The winners will lock horns on November 14.

Also Read: Pulitzer-Winning Indian Photojournalist Danish Siddique Killed in Action in Kandahar

“We know it will be world class event”: Sourav Ganguly, BCCI President

After the announcement, BCCI President Sourav Ganguly was quoted by the media saying, “It is good to get Oman in the frame of world cricket with the hosting of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. It will help a lot of young players take an interest in the game. We know it will be a world class event in this part of the world.”

So far, the tournament schedule remains unannounced.

Also Read: T-Series Managing Director Bhushan Kumar Accused of Rape, FIR Filed

Groups As Announced by ICC

Round 1

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, the Netherlands and Namibia

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman

Super 12s

Group A: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, Winner from A1 and Runners Up from B2

Group B: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Runners Up from A2 and Winner from B1