Automated driverless train looks like a new revolutionary technology, but its history is surprisingly long. The automated driverless train has been operating in several countries since 1980.  

Have a look into the history of automated driverless trains.  

The first rail line with the Automatic Train Operation (ATO) system was London Underground’s Victoria line. Initially, it was operated in 1967 with a driver in the cabin. Since then, several trains have been operated without a driver.  

Then in 1981, the world’s first automated driverless train was operated on the Port Island Line in Kobe, Japan.  Currently, several lines have automated driverless systems such as Osaka Metro’s New Tram, the Yurikamome, The Nippori-Toneri Liner, the Seaside Line and the Disney Resort Line.  

The world’s second automated metro line (1st in Europe) was the Lille Metro in northern France. Initially, it was launched in 1983 with about 12 stations. Now, Lille Metro includes 2 automated lines and 60 stations. Besides Lille, the automated driverless train system was deployed in Paris, Lyon, Toulouse and Rennes. 

Beside France, other European countries that have launched the automated driverless train system are Germany, Spain and Hungary, Italy, Russia, Switzerland, Denmark and UK.  

American countries that have the fully automated driverless train system are the U.S., Brazil, Canada, Chile, Mexico and Venezuela.  

Several Asian countries have the operational automated driverless train system such as Japan, China, Hong Kong, India, Macau, Malaysia, Pakistan, Qatar, Sudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey and United Arab Emirates.  

In Australia, two automated railway systems were recently deployed – Pilbara railways on 28 December 2018 and Sydney metro on 26 May 2019.