All Eyes on Injured Returnees as Selectors Spring Few Surprises

The Indian cricket team announced its 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC ODI World Cup 2023 on Tuesday, following a press conference by captain Rohit Sharma and chief selector Ajit Agarkar.

While the return of KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer from injuries was on expected lines, the non-selection of rising talents Sanju Samson and Tilak Varma did raise a few eyebrows.

The squad features three specialist fast bowlers in Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami and Shardul Thakur, along with three left-arm spinners in Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav. This provides the team with ample bowling options for varied conditions.

Ishan Kishan joins KL Rahul as the wicket-keeping options, while vice captain Hardik Pandya is expected to provide balance to the XI with his all-round abilities.

The top-order features skipper Rohit Sharma along with the in-form Shubman Gill, batting mainstay Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer and Suryakumar Yadav. This gives the batting unit an exciting blend of aggression and experience.

Overall, the selectors seem to have covered all bases with the chosen personnel. The focus now shifts to fine-tuning preparations in the months ahead of the marquee event in October-November. With a well-rounded squad at their disposal, India will be keen to add to their title triumphs of 1983 and 2011.

India Squad

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

Rohit Sharma (C)
Shubman Gill
Virat Kohli
Shreyas Iyer
Ishan Kishan
KL Rahul
Hardik Pandya (VC)
Suryakumar Yadav
Ravindra Jadeja
Axar Patel
Shardul Thakur
Jasprit Bumrah
Mohd. Shami
Mohd. Siraj
Kuldeep Yadav

Also Read: Former Zimbabwe Captain Heath Streak Passes Away at 49 After Battle With Cancer


Follow Us on Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | YouTube | Flipboard | Google News