The 2021 Indian Premier League auction which was held on Friday was a clear indicator of another exciting T20 season coming later this year. This article is an IPL 2021 auction round-up which will tell you just how much money 8 teams spent in the auction and who bought the most number of players.

On Thursday, a total of 57 players were bought and a whopping Rs. 145.3 crore were spent by 8 IPL franchises at the mini-auction. These 57 players included 22 overseas players that came under the gavel as well. The auction’s thunder was stolen by the South African all-rounder Chris Morris who broke the all-time record of being the most expensive player ever bought in IPL auction history. Rajasthan Royals and Punjab Kings (previously Kings X1 Punjab), locked horns and battled it out for Morris. Meanwhile, Australian batsman Maxwell also fetched big money at the auction despite having a lackluster IPL 2020 season. He was bought by the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The auction saw some surprises too as Cheteshwar Pujara was picked by Chennai Super Kings while Indian spin-expert Harbhajan Singh found a late taker in Kolkata Knight Riders. Master blaster Sachin Tendulkar’s son Arjun Tendulkar was the last pick of the day with Mumbai Indians buying him for Rs. 20 lakh.

Mumbai Indians

Total money spent: Rs. 69.65 crore

Mumbai Indians Players Bought: 


Nathan Coulter-Nile Rs 5,00,00,000


Adam Milne – Rs 3,20,00,000


Piyush Chawla – Rs 2,40,00,000


James Neesham- Rs. 50,00,000


Yudhvir Charak- Rs. 20,00,000


Marco Jansen- Rs. 20,00,000


Arjun Tendulkar- Rs. 20,00,000


Royal Challengers Bangalore


Total Money Spent: Rs. 49.10 crore


Royal Challengers Bangalore Players Bought:


Kyle Jamieson – Rs 15,00,00,000


Glenn Maxwell Rs 14,25,00,000


Sachin Baby – Rs 20,00,000


Rajat Patidar – Rs 20,00,000


Mohammed Azharudeen – Rs 20,00,000


Daniel Christian – Rs. 4,80,00,000


KS Bharat – Rs. 20,00,000


Suyash Prabhudesai – Rs. 20, 00, 000


Rajasthan Royals 


Total Money Spent: Rs. 50.15 crore


Rajasthan Royals Players Bought:


Christopher Morris – Rs.16,25,00,000


Shivam Dube – Rs.4,40,00,000


Chetan Sakariya – Rs.1,20,00,000


Mustafizur Rahman – Rs.1,00,00,000


K.C Cariappa – Rs.20,00,000


Liam Livingstone- Rs. 75,00,000


Kuldip Yadav- Rs. 20,00,000


Aakash Singh – Rs. 20,00,000


Chennai Super Kings


Total Money Spent: Rs. 62.10 crore


Chennai Super Kings Players Bought: 


Krishnappa Gowtham – Rs 9,25,00,000


Moeen Ali – Rs 7,00,00,000


Cheteshwar Pujara – Rs 50,00,000


Harishankar Reddy- Rs. 20,00,000


Bhagath Varma- Rs. 20,00,000


Hari Nishanth- Rs. 20,00,000


Delhi Capitals


Total Money Spent: Rs. 72.09 crore


Delhi Capitals Players Bought:


Tom Curran – Rs 5,25,00,000


Steven Smith – Rs 2,20,00,000


Umesh Yadav – Rs 1,00,00,000


Ripal Patel – Rs 20,00,000


Vishnu Vinod – Rs 20,00,000


Lukman Hussain Meriwala – Rs 20,00,000


M Siddharth – Rs 20,00,000


Sam Billings – Rs. 2,00,00,000


Kolkata Knight Riders 


KKR Total Money Spent: Rs. 74.25 crore


KKR Players Bought:


Shakib Al Hasan – Rs 3,20,00,000


Sheldon Jackson – Rs 20,00,000


Vaibhav Arora – Rs. 20,00,000


Karun Nair – Rs. 50, 00, 000


Harbhajan Singh – Rs. 2,00,00,000


Ben Cutting -.Rs. 75,00,000


Venkatesh Iyer – Rs. 20,00,000


Pawan Negi – Rs. 50,00,000


Punjab Kings 


Total Money Spent: Rs. 34.6 crore


Punjab Kings Players Bought: 


Jhye Richardson – Rs. 14,00,00,000


Riley Meredith – Rs.8,00,00,000


Shahrukh Khan – Rs.5,25,00,000


Moises Henriques – Rs.4,20,00,000


Dawid Malan – Rs.1,50,00,000


Jalaj Saxena – Rs. 30,00,000


Utkarsh Singh – Rs. 20,00,000


Fabian Allen – Rs. 75,00,000


Saurabh Kumar – Rs. 20,00,000


Sunrisers Hyderabad


Total Money Spent: 3.80 crore


Sunrisers Hyderabad Players Bought


Jagadeesha Suchith – Rs 30,00,000


Kedar Jadhav – Rs. 2,00,00,000


Mujeeb Ur Rahman – Rs. 1,50,00,000