Recently Oman has suspended flights and has banned travellers from 10 countries as a precaution against the spread of the coronavirus. According to news agency ONA’s reports, the country’s Supreme Committee who is working for the COVID-19 pandemic has imposed a ban on travelers from the following countries:

  • Sudan, 
  • Lebanon, 
  • South Africa, 
  • Brazil, 
  • Nigeria, 
  • Tanzania, 
  • Ghana, 
  • Guinea, 
  • Sierra Leone, and 
  • Ethiopia.

How long is the Flight Ban?

The flight ban is for a period of 15-day.

Is there any Travel restriction?

Yes there is a two-week travel restriction.

When will the restrictions come into effect?

The restrictions shall come into effect from this Thursday. 

Are there exemptions for certain categories of people? 

Yes, the following are exempted but with a condition of mandatory undergoing of health protocols so that they can be allowed to enter into the country:

  • Omani citizens, 
  • Diplomats, and 
  • Health workers and their families. 

The government has requested the nationals and residents to avoid traveling abroad, if there is no extreme necessity or an emergency situation.

The reports said –

“The Committee pondered over the potential risks lest the new strains might prevail in the Sultanate and exert pressure on its health establishments – a likely possibility indicated by local reports and PCR tests conducted on incoming passengers.”

Current Coronavirus condition in Oman:

  • Total coronavirus cases – Rose to 139,692. 
  • Further 26 people had been hospitalized.
  • The death toll from COVID-19 – 1,555.

We hope and wish that all the people stay in great health and are protected while following the measures as prescribed by the government.