In the Padma Awards 2021 that were felicitated today, Indian President bestowed awards to PV Sindhu, Karan Johar, and late Sushma Swaraj for their contribution in their respective fields. Other awardees included National Film Award winner Kangana Ranaut, Bollywood filmmaker Karan Johar, late political maverick Arun Jaitley among many. It should be noted that the ceremony which was due for the 2020 winners was postponed last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. On November 8, President Ram Nath Kovind awarded the various Padma Awards at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi.


Greatness and achievements in any field of work must be acknowledged and appreciated. It incentivizes the people who served their country on various grounds, and motivates others. The Padma Awards are India’s highest civilian honours and are given in 3 separate categories.

The Padma Vibhushan is the second highest civilian award and is awarded to people for their exceptional and distinguished services. It’s followed by Padma Bhushan which is the third highest civilian honour for distinguished service. The fourth highest civilian award is Padma Shri.

The highest civilian award is the ‘Bharat Ratna’ award. As the name suggests, it is awarded to those who have made unparalleled contributions with their work and have brought glory to India.

Also Read: Vicky Kaushal-Katrina Kaif Reportedly ‘Rokafied’ at Kabir Khan’s Home, December Wedding in Making

The Facts of Matter

The Rashtrapati Bhavan was lit up today in the honour of hundreds of Indians who were conferred with the Padma Awards. Indian President Ram Nath Kovind gave the awards to 119 people. The high-profile event was attended by Indian PM Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar among others.

Hundreds of High-Profile Individuals Got Their Share of Recognition

Earlier, the Government of India announced the full list of Padma Award winners. This list included 7 Padma Vibhushan Awardees, 10 Padma Bhushan Awardees, and as many as 102 Padma Shri awardees. If we look at the gender demographic, the Padma Awards continue to be an event largely dominated by men. While 29 women were bestowed with Padma Awards only 1 transgender person received their Padma Award.

Also Read: Indore Man Booked for Giving Triple Talaq to Wife on Phone for Giving Birth to a Girl Child

Kangana Ranaut, Ekta Kapoor and KJo Take Away Padma Awards

National Film awards winning actress Kangana Ranaut, renowned producer and television show maker Ekta Kapoor and filmmaker Karan Johar were conferred with Padma awards. Kangana Ranaut, Karan Johar, Ekta Kapoor all received Padma Shri, India’s fourth highest civilian award. Meanwhile, singer and composer Adnan Sami also received Padma Shri award. Originally from London, Sami got India’s citizenship back in 2015.

Kangana Ranaut Thanks India for Her ‘Gift’

After receiving the award, actress Kangana Ranaut took to Instagram to share the newest honor she received. “Long ago when I started my career ….A question bothered me … I asked myself some want money, some want fans …. some seek fame and some just want attention …. What do I want ? Deep down I always knew as a girl child I wanted to earn respect and that is my treasure. Thank you India for this gift,” she captioned the image where she was receiving the award from the President.

Also Read: Antilia Scare Part 2: Cabbie Informs Police of Threat Towards Mukesh Ambani’s Residence, Security Upped

Ekta Kapoor Dedicates Award to Family, Calls it ‘Surreal Moment’

Meanwhile, producer and Balaji Telefilms promoter Ekta Kapoor also expressed her joy on Instagram. “It is an absolute honour to receive the Fourth Highest Civilian Award for my humble contribution in the field of performing arts. It is a surreal moment and a matter of great pride. I want to dedicate this badge of honour to my pillars of strength – my mom tushar laqu ravie and dad,” she captioned a video of her receiving the Padma Shri.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Erk❤️rek (@ektarkapoor)

Other Winners of Padma Shri Awards 2021