Ahead of PM Modi’s cabinet expansion, Indian President Ram Nath Kovind approved the appointment of new governors of 8 states. In the reshuffle involving 8 Governor position, Thawar Chand Gehlot has been appointed as the new Karnataka governor while Gujrat’s Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel has been appointed as Madhya Pradesh’s gubernational position.


The political landscape is abuzz with the recent reports of PM Modi’s cabinet expansion. In all likelihood, the Indian Prime Minister will be expanding his council of ministers. According to sources, PM Modi has already met the home minister and his close ally Amit Shah and his party secretary BL Santhosh to finalize the names.

Also Read: Uttarakhand Political Vacuum: Pushkar Singh Dhami to be 3rd Chief Minister in 4 Months


In the PM Modi Cabinet expansion matter, all sources and reports are indicating the fact that PM Modi’s new cabinet of ministers will include 20 new faces. Further, sources are claiming that the last poll-bound states – Maharashtra and West Bengal – will be seeing a mightier representation.

President Kovind Approves Appointments of 8 New Governors

Ahead of the cabinet expansion, these are the 8 new Governors of their respective states. It should be noted that their appointments will come into effect from the day they assume the charge of their gubernational offices.

Also Read: UP Zila Panchayat Polls: BJP Secures 66 of 75 Seats in a Clean Sweep; Setback for Samajwadi Party

States Governor
Haryana Bandaru Dattatraya
Himachal Pradesh Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar
Jharkhand Ramesh Bais
Goa PS Sreedharan Pillai
Karnataka Thaawarchand Gehlot
Madhya Pradesh Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel
Mizoram Hari Babu Kambhampati
Tripura Satyadev Narayan Arya

Gehlot’s Appointment Leaves 3 Spots for Grab

While the changes are significant in several aspects, one of the most important reshuffle. Is the appointment of the current Union minister Thaawarchand Gehlot as Karnataka’s Governor. A 2019 Rajya Sabha House Leader, Gehlot has served as the Union Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment. As he served for multiple positions, now 3 spots are up for grabs. With his appointment as the new Karnataka governor, BJP parliamentary board, Rajya Sabha and cabinet, all three places will have a spot left.

The Union Government will be now be forced to find his replacement for the upcoming Monsoon Session of the Indian Parliament which is scheduled for July 19.

Meanwhile, President Kovind also appointed former Lok Sabha member Hari Babu as Mizoram’s governor. Hari has served as Vishakhapatnam Lok Sabha member. Further, he is also the current National Executive of the current ruling party – Bharatiya Janata Party.

Also Read: Warren Buffett Warns About “Another Pandemic”, Predicts that it can be “Worse than COVID-19”

Former Governors Moved to Other Rajya Sabhas

Furthermore, the governors of the above mentioned 8 states have been moved appropriately to other Rajya Sabhas. While P.S. Sreedharan Pillai has been transferred to Goa from Mizoram, Satyadev Arya has moved to Tripura from Haryana. Ramesh Bais, who served as Tripura’s governor will be moved to Jharkhand’s Rajya Sabha. Bandaru Dattatraya, who served as Himachal Pradesh’s Governor, will now be appointed as Haryana’s Governor.

Also Read: Mehta-Adhikari Meet: Mamata Bannerjee’s TMC writes letter to PM, Urges to Remove SG Mehta from Post

More about Modi’s Cabinet Expansion

It should be noted that if all the reports that have cited various senior level government sources are true, PM Modi will be expanding his cabinet for the first time since I assumed his charge in 2019, May, and kicked off his second term. The maximum strength of a Prime Minister’s council of ministers can be up to 81 and currently, PM Modi is assisted by a council comprising of as many as 53 ministers.