On Tuesday, Saudi Arabia banned sanctions coming from 20 countries, including India and the United States, to try to stop the spread of the deadly coronavirus epidemic. While the Middle Eastern country postponed air travel from India in September last year, the list of banned countries has now become much longer.

When it begins?

This temporary suspension begins on Wednesday. 

Not applicable on?

It doesn’t apply to 

  • Diplomats, 
  • Saudi citizens, 
  • Medical practitioners, and their families 
  • But this includes Saudi Arabia’s neighboring countries – Egypt and the United Arab Emirates.

Applicable on?

  • Lebanon, 
  • Ireland, 
  • Turkey, 
  • Italy, 
  • Sweden, 
  • Portugal, 
  • Switzerland, 
  • The US, 
  • India, 
  • Brazil, 
  • Indonesia, 
  • Argentina, 
  • South Africa, and 
  • Pakistan 

They are barred from entering the country.

Other conditions that will make this ban applicable on People:

Saudi Arabia’s interior ministry said a temporary ban would also apply to passengers passing through 20 banned countries during the 14 days before the ban came into force.

A similar ban was imposed in the country in December following a new and sparser strain of coronavirus in Britain. The country resumed international flights and reopened its ports on 3 January 2021.

As per reports, this move comes after Riyadh’s announcement of postponement of end of the travel ban for its citizens and reopening its ports from 31 March to 17 May. The country’s Health Minister is of the saying that the travel ban lifting is delayed due to delays in the delivery of coronavirus vaccines.

Currently, according to data obtained by Johns Hopkins University, Saudi Arabia is reporting 3.68 lakh Covid-19 cases and 6,383 deaths.