New significant developments have emerged in the entire Uttarakhand political vacuum situation where Pushkar Singh Dhami is now going to be the 3rd Chief Minister of the state in 4 months. The 45-year-old veteran politician will also be the youngest Chief Minister of the state. Prior to Dhami, Ramesh Pokhriyal, who’s the current Union Minister of Education, was the youngest Uttarakhand CM at the age of 49.


Bharatiya Janata Party’s Pushkar Singh Dhami was chosen by the party’s legislative party and is scheduled to take part in the swearing in ceremony. Earlier today, the party’s 57 MLAs met in an urgent meeting in the state at Dehradun to decide as to whom to choose as the next Uttarakhand Chief Minister. Dhami’s appointment as the next confirmed Chief Minister of the state comes a year before the Assembly Elections in Uttarakhand.

Also Read: Rawat as the new Uttarakhand Chief Minister, Oath ceremony was at 4 PM

The Uttarakhand Political Vacuum: Multiple CMs Being Swapped

The state’s ruling party BJP is known in Uttarakhand to be changing its face and the CM of the state before the state goes into its election phase.

Back in 2000, when Uttarakhand was formed, BJP’s Nityanand Swami was made the state’s Chief Minister. However, before the 2001 Assembly Elections, Bhagat Singh Koshyari was made the state’s CM and BJP lost that year’s Assembly Elections.

Fast forward to 2007, Maj. Gen. Bhuvan Chandra Khanduri was appointed as the new CM. However, BJP’s Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank replaced Khanduri right after the 2009 Lok Sabha Elections. The move again backfired against BJP and the party had lost the election back then too.

Also Read: Aamir Khan and Kiran Rao Announce Divorce after 15 Years of Marriage; Will Co-Parent Azad

‘Constitutional Crisis’: Tirath Singh Rawat Resigns as Uttarakhand CM

Shifting our focus back to the current matters, earlier this week, Tirath Singh Rawat wrote a resignation letter to his party’s national president J.P. Nadda to “avoid constitutional crisis” in Uttarakhand.

To understand the move, our readers would have to remember that back when he took as the oath as the Uttarakhand CM, he was not an elected MLA in the state’s Assembly, and was a Lok Sabha MP from Pauri Garhwal.

However, according to the Indian Constitution, a CM has to be inducted into the state legislation within 6 months of him taking oath as the CM. The Constitution has a mandate that states that the said person can be elected in the legislative assembly or the legislative council.

As Uttarakhand has no Legislative Council, Rawad had the time till 10th September to get into the Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly through a bye-election. However, due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the chances of holding another election were slim.

The future confirmed CM of Uttarakhand – Pushkar Singh Dhami – is a sitting MLA and thus, BJP will not be in its constitutional paralysis.

Also Read: Mehta-Adhikari Meet: Mamata Bannerjee’s TMC writes letter to PM, Urges to Remove SG Mehta from Post

What do we know about Pushkar Singh Dhami?

Born and bred in Uttarakhand’s Pithoragarh, Dhami is a 2-time MLA from Udham Singh Nagar’s Khatima constituency. A LLB graduate, Dhami holds a Postgraduate degree in the field of Human Resource Management and Industrial Relations.

Like several BJP affiliated leaders, Dhami too has reportedly has ties with the RSS (Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh) and has in the past served as Bharatiya Janta Yuva Morcha’s – the BJP youth wing – President.