For the upcoming cycle of WTC 2021-23, the ICC announced India’s full fixtures and also introduced a new point system after receiving feedback from teams that played in the first ever World Test Championship season.

The inaugural season of the Test championship concluded earlier last month with New Zealand taking the glory away from Indian Test team in the final. In the upcoming season, India will be eager to take its revenge and come back in style.


The International Cricket Council announced the fixtures for the second season of the World Test Championship which will kick off this year and will go on till 2023. The council of cricket also announced a simplified point system where each winning team will be awarded 12 points regardless of the number of Tests played in a series.

Also Read: Catch It! Harleen Deol Takes Unbelievable Catch in Eng vs Ind Women’s 1st T20

Indian Fixture for the WTC 2021-23

The new cycle of the WTC will commence with India playing its 5-Match Test series against England. The high-octane clash between India and the original inventors of the game will kick off on August 4. The first game will be played at the Kennington Oval, London, while the final Test will be played on September 10th at Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester.

Also Read: England knocked out of ICC World Test Championship; India one step closer to qualify for WTC final

After England, India will seek revenge from New Zealand

After the intense series where India will be challenged to take the Englishmen at home, the team will fly back home to take on the New Zealand cricket team in the 2-Test series. The complete schedule of the series has not been released as of yet by the BCCI but the series in all likelihood will be played in November.

Australia to Fly to India to Avenge Gabba Defeat

The series against England will be followed by another high-stakes series against Australia. This year, the Indian Test team took the Aussies at their home and against all odds won the Border-Gavaskar series 2-1. The Aussies will be looking to take its revenge and will fight hard to defeat India in India.

Also Read: Indian-American Tennis Player Samir Banerjee Outshines in Wimbledon Boys’ Singles

South Africa to Host India for 3-Test Series

Following the high-octane series against the team Down Under, India will pack bags again and will fly to take on another strong opponent – South Africa. The South African team will be hosting India for a 3-Test series. In the inaugural season of the WTC, India dominated South Africa and had won the 5 Test series 3-0.

Sri Lanka and Bangladesh to Lock Horns

After taking on South Africa at their home somewhere in 2022, India will again fly back to home and take Sri Lanka. This will be the Indian team’s final ‘at home’ series and will then fly to Bangladesh to fight it out in a 2-Test series.

Also Read: Messi-led Argentina Defeats Brazil 1-0 to Win Copa America 2021; End 28-Year Drought

3 Test Series at Home, 3 Overseas

In the upcoming season, India will be playing a total of 6 bilateral series. While the home series will be played against Australia, New Zealand and Australia, the overseas games within the WTC season will be played in England, South Africa and Bangladesh.

It should be noted that India will not be taking on West Indies and Pakistan in the upcoming cycle. This in all likelihood could be because both the teams have not played India in a bilateral series for almost 10 years.

The top 9 teams will be taking on each other in 6 bilateral series – with 3 Test games at home and 3 Test games away. Reportedly, the cut-off date for the conclusion of the series is March 31, 2023.

Simplified Point System Announced

The ICC, while announcing the fixtures for the second edition of WTC, also announced the simplified points system which will be used in the upcoming cycle. Now each match will now be contested for the same number of points, unlike last time, where the points were calculated on the number of Tests in that series.

Now, for a win, 12 points will be awarded, for a draw, 4 points will be awarded and for a tie, 6 points will be awarded.